ISoP ISoP on Twitter | ACoP ACoP on Twitter | PAGE | WCoP | PAGANZ | PAGJa

PsN 'execute' failed to start when called from Rstudio

Dear all,

This is my first time posting here =]

I have been constructing study datasets and control streams from Rstudio. Now I wish to call PsN ‘execute’ from Rstudio so that I can run things (Rscript and NONMEM) all together using in Rstudio, which would allow me to analyze my result right away using R.

I tried the following script in Rstudio (I have already set the wd to the folder containing FIT_01.mod):

(1)
system2("execute FIT_01.mod")

(2)
shell("execute FIT_01.mod")

(3)
write("execute FIT_01.mod", "FIT_01.bat")
shell("FIT_01.bat")

(4)
write("execute FIT_01.mod", "FIT_01.bat")
shell.exec("FIT_01.bat")

(1) gave me the running command '"execute FIT_01.mod"' had status 127 warning and did not execute anything. (2), (3) and (4) gave me the following messages either in R console or a separate shell:
Starting 1 NONMEM executions. 1 in parallel.
S:1 ..
All executions started.
Starting NMTRAN
NMtran failed. There is no output for model 1. Contents of FMSG:

Not restarting this model.
F:1 ..
execute done

However, my control worked perfectly well if I manually execute the control stream through cmd or the above batch file created in (3) or (4). It just doesn’t work when I try to execute it from Rstudio.

Does anyone have any idea what is the problem behind?

Some info about my system:
NONMEM 7.4
R3.4.2
Rstudio v1.1.383

I’m seeing exactly the same issue.

When trying to run NONMEM-7.4 from R running on Windows 10 trying to call c:/nm74g64/run/nmfe74.bat, I can’t get the model to run. R is creating valid system commands which run outside of R, but running from an R script, or from the RStudio terminal, or via PsN (using execute like you) doesn’t work.

Apparently this issue is not seen with other operating systems.