Welcome to ACOP 9


Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the ACoP9 Planning Committee, I cordially invite you to attend the Ninth American Conference on Pharmacometrics (ACoP9), to be held October 7th to 10th, 2018, at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort near San Diego, CA. ACoP is the annual scientific meeting of the International Society of Pharmacometrics (ISoP).

New this year, the theme of ACoP9 is “Modeling without Bounds.” This theme was chosen to highlight ISoP’s 2018 objectives of “internationalization/collaboration” and “fusion/integration” of pharmacometrics groups, methods, and tools. Our Scientific Programming Committee, chaired by Joy C. Hsu, PhD, is already planning for an exceptional series of sessions consistent with our conference theme, and will have the difficult task of selecting from many outstanding proposals submitted by our members, Special Interest Groups, Networks and Committees.

Our pre-conference program on Sunday, October 7th, is entitled “Leveraging Digital Health and Data Analytics to Make Informed Therapeutic Decisions” and will be co-chaired by Puneet Gaitonde, PhD, and Mirjam Trame, PharmD PhD. The Innovative Communication session, introduced at last year’s meeting, will return to ACoP9 with a new twist – please start thinking about your creative contribution and look for future announcements on how you can become ACoP9’s Innovative Communicator. As always, the conference will feature many tutorials, student and trainee events, vendor-sponsored workshops, presentations, and posters covering emerging science and innovative methods in pharmacometrics. You won’t want to miss it!

In addition, we are pleased to announce an exciting change for ACoP9: to accommodate the needs of our growing community, this year’s conference has been extended to run until early evening on Wednesday, October 10th. This not only will allow for the inclusion of additional scientific sessions but also will facilitate more time each day for networking and poster sessions. To accommodate this change, tutorials will be held on the morning of Thursday, October 11th, with post-conference workshops beginning that afternoon.

We thank the ACoP8 Planning Committee, sponsors, exhibitors, speakers and attendees for making ACoP8 a tremendous (and sold out!) success. We would also like to extend our congratulations to the 2017 ISoP Award Winners and newly inducted ISoP Fellows. These awards are an important way to recognize outstanding contributions by our members to the field of pharmacometrics.

Recipient: Rik Schoemaker, PhD

Recipient: Donald Mager, PharmD Phd

Recipients: Nidal Al-Huniti et al. accepting for Al-Huniti, N., Nielsen, J., Hutmacher, M., Lappalainen, J., Cantagallo, K. and Sostek, M. (2016), “Population Exposure-Response Modeling of Naloxegol in Patients With Noncancer-Related Pain and Opioid-Induced Constipation.” CPT Pharmacometrics Syst. Pharmacol., 5: 359–366. doi:10.1002/psp4.120

Jeffrey Barrett, PhD; Stephen Duffull, PhD; Joga Gobburu, PhD;
Donald Mager, PharmD PhD; France Mentré, MD PhD

Recipient: Marc Gastonguay, PhD

Please plan now to submit your nominations for the 2018 ISoP Awards and Fellows as well as proposals for the scientific program. The call for programming and award nominations opens on November 15th, 2017.

With registration closing early two years in a row, I encourage you to make your plans now to join us at ACoP9.

I look forward to seeing you in San Diego!


Cynthia J. Musante, PhD
Conference Chair


1 Like